Aspects are the criteria against which you'll rate your internet safety provision. For each Aspect, you'll give your school a rating of 1 to 5. If you're achieving a level 1, you're meeting all of the criteria that we recommend for this Aspect. If you're at levels 5 - 2, there are areas for improvement.
You can see from the breadcrumb which Element and Strand you're currently working in.
The tabs on the Aspect page show how many Aspects are in a strand.
For each Aspect, read the 5 level descriptions and assess which level best describes your school at the moment. If you're unsure as to what level to choose, you'll find some suggestions as to the type of evidence you might use to help you assess the level that you're at.
You can also find useful links to supporting documentation for the current Aspect.
Once you've decided which level your school is at, click on the selection button for your chosen level. Your chosen level is highlighted to confirm your selection.
Unless you're at Level 1 already, suggested actions for improvement will appear. This guidance should help you to move up to the next level.
This 'accreditation icon' signifies that this level is the level you'll need to achieve for this aspect, in order to apply for accreditation with us. Once you've achieved this level or higher for each aspect in the framework, you're ready to apply for accreditation.
Throughout the rating process, we recommend you keep notes to support your ratings. At the bottom of each aspect page, you'll see three note boxes: Evidence, where you can explain what evidence you've used to decide upon your chosen level; Action Notes, where you can add notes explaining what actions your school will take to move up to the next level and Comments, for any additional notes that you wish to make.
You can change your ratings or notes at any point, so don't worry if you make a mistake.
Finally, you don't need to do anything to save your ratings or notes - as soon as you've finished making notes or changing your rating, the details are saved automatically. Do be aware however that if you don't interact with the site for over 15 minutes, you'll be automatically logged out and any unsaved notes will be lost.